Uncategorized

Getting inked: my first tattoo experience 

So I got a tattoo, my first ever tatto and I couldn’t be happier. 
The experience I had was amazing so I really wanted to blog about it. So without further ado, here it goes! 

I’ve wanted a tattoo for years. I’ve always known that I’d get one one day and always had a few tattoo designs that I liked but to be honest I was quite indecisive. I never figured out quite where I wanted a tattoo and that always put me off. Then one day (yesterday to be exact haha) I just randomly thought, “I’m having a tattoo today”. I was on the bus to Cardiff (my closest shopping city) with my Mum and started googling places to get walk in tattoos. When we got to Cardiff we found a place immediately. That place was S.W.Y.D Tattoo Shop and Barber’s in High Street Arcade, Cardiff.  I basically went in, told them what I wanted and they were so helpful. They told me that it could easily be done and to come back in half an hour. YAY. 

Soooo, half an hour dragged. I was so excited and couldn’t wait to get it done. I got there and met my tattoo artist Aaron (who is amazingly talented, check out his Facebook page here). I showed him the sort of design I wanted, he went to draw it out and within ten minutes I was sat on the tattoo chair. Sitting there waiting was the only nerve wrecking part. Just waiting for the needle. After the needle touched skin I was fine. 

Aaron and all of the staff at S.W.Y.D where beyond helpful. They were so lovely and chatty and really put my mind at ease. Throughout the tattoo (which was so quick) Aaron kept asking if I was ok and checking that I was able to cope with the needle. Afterwards he sat me down and explained in full all of the aftercare, answering any questions I had, which for a worrier like me was extremely appreciated. 

I left S.W.Y.D smiling and absolutely over the moon (lol get it?!) with my tattoo. I’m definitely going back for my second tattoo (a sun on the opposite arm). 

So, if you’re considering a tattoo my tips would be to just go for it! Mine was pretty spur of the moment, I knew what design I liked and just chose a place to put it and just went for it. Lots of people say to put tons of thought into it. I didn’t. But I’m so happy and have absolutely no regrets. Obviously everyone is different and for some, a tattoo can take years of careful planning but for me, this way was the best. Having no anticipation worked wonders for me, I think having it planned weeks in advance would have made me an anxious mess!  

If any of you are in the South Wales area, I totally recommend S.W.Y.D for your work. Check them out! 

Can’t wait for my next one. 

Rach xoxo. 

11 thoughts on “Getting inked: my first tattoo experience 

Leave a Reply

