lblogger · lifestyle · Mental health · Mental Health · music · Uncategorized

Music and my Mental Health

Music is important to a lot of people. Music has existed in this world since the beginning of civilisation and I believe will exist until civilisation ceases. Music is important to me. I have a musical background and was brought up listening to music more than watching tv. My dad plays guitar and I have an uncle who is a musician, so music is in my blood (except that I sound like a dying seagull when I sing). So yeah, music has always been a passion of mine and I pride myself on my music taste. I have talked about music on my blog before which you can see here, but today is something a little different. Today I want to talk about the music that has helped me through my worst days. Music has been absolutely key in helping me with my mental health, and while I receive professional help, I also think it’s important, at least for me, to find more holistic ways of coping for the long term. The music I will be talking about is music that has helped me cope when things got hard. With each song I talk about I will write a little bit about how that song has impacted on my life. Enjoy….

Kate Bush – Cloudbusting

This song is from one of my favourite albums ever, Hounds of Love and it is certainly my favourite album by Kate Bush. Back when my anxiety was at its worst, I used to listen to this song on repeat on my way to university. Train rides used to be a nightmare for me, and Kate’s voice had such a calming effect. Kate Bush is a gift to the world. A creative genius. A beautiful flower that we have been blessed with.


Lana Del Rey – Ride

After a bad relationship, Lana soon released Ride and her whole Paradise Edition album. Cue me becoming obsessed with it and her. Lana was and is still mesmerising to me. Her, her voice, the video to accompany the song. It inspired me to start the journey to loving myself and becoming the person I want to be. I am thankful to the music of Lana Del Rey for many things, mainly for inspiring me to become the person I always knew I was.

Fleetwood Mac – Rhiannon

I would never have got through A Level exams without Fleetwood Mac. I listened to them whilst revising, especially when revising Literature as Fleetwood Mac inspire me to be more creative. Stevie Nicks is an absolute goddess. She sounds and looks ethereal at all times, but this song takes it to another level. She is not of this earth. I relate to the mysterious character of ‘Rhiannon’ so much, especially given that it is thought to be about a Welsh witch from the Welsh book The Mabinogion (I’m from the lovely old land of Wales, too).

 Led Zeppelin- All My Love

The most beautifully underrated Zeppelin song ever to exist. This reminds me of better times, and whenever I listen to it, it makes the stormiest of moods disappear to make way for the sun. A song full of love, written as a memorial for Robert Plant’s (the bands lead singer) son who passed away. A song about a death would be expected to be sad and full of grief, however, it is quite the opposite. It is so full of love and devotion, and really puts a smile on my face and warmth in my heart.

The Eagles – Hotel California 

 This makes me think of summer. Of warm, hopeful sunny days as a fifteen year old. It’s a song very close to my heart and reminds me of different people for different reasons. Most prominent is my boyfriend. This was the very first vinyl record I was given, a first edition original for my eighteenth birthday. I treasure that vinyl like it’s a child. It’s a song brimming with happy memories. 

If you do just one thing today, please listen to the wonderful tracks on this list. They helped me so much at different points in my life, and continue to do so. My mental health journey is as much about an holistic approach as it is about a medical and professional one. Music is one of the holistic methods that help me. I hope it helps you, too.

 
If you liked this, you may like to read about the professional help I receive for my mental illness. 
love, Rachel xoxo

6 thoughts on “Music and my Mental Health

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post! Music is a passion of Mine and this is just brilliant. You have a great taste in music, because I listen to the same artists haha ✌️️ I love the way you have written this post, it is in a slightly different writingstyle, but it is equally informing, entertaining amd lovely! You are becoming a real good writer Rachel!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore this post Rachel- and I’m really glad I came across your blog! This is brilliantly written, and has given me some new music recommendations. My mental health journey is also ongoing, and I have some go-to tracks which I always listen to my worst days too (such as The Wilson-Pickets ‘Hold on’ and, bizzarely, anything by Katy Perry!). Looking forward to reading more from you 🙂

    H xx
    https://hopedowsett.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry for the delayed reply. I took a blogging break!

      I’m so happy you liked this post and my blog – your words mean a lot!

      I hope you enjoyed the music suggestions. I will certainly give your go-to tracks a listen!

      Thank you again,

      Positive vibes to you – Rachel xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

