books · bookworm · lblogger · lifestyle · literature · Positive thinking · Uncategorized · university

Dream Big

We’ve all got dreams, some big, some small. You may dream of a holiday in the tropics, of winning the lottery or having the fastest sports car. You may dream of having the ‘perfect’ life, a nice house, a partner and three gorgeous little kids. Dreams vary from person to person and can change faster than the seasons. My dreams change all the time. They usually revolve around my future and my career. For the past few months I’ve been following a ‘dream’ that wasn’t really a dream to begin with. I went through a hard time in university last year and although I adored and was very passionate about my English Literature degree, I was struggling. I couldn’t figure out what career I wanted out of it, and instead of enjoying it like I used to, I was in a constant panic that it would lead me now where. Now studying English Literature has always been a dream of mine, so as you can imagine, this stressed me out to no end. I felt that I wasn’t good enough for it and would never get a career out of it. So this led me to try to find something else. Then, like magic I stumbled upon the idea of nursing. I set my sights on nursing without thinking. I did all I could to pursue a career in nursing, applying for all the university open days I could find. Nursing to me was stable. I envisioned myself in a stable job for the rest of my life and for the past few months it’s all I’ve talked about. Nursing is one of the most admirable careers there is, and I have a huge amount of respect for nurses, it’s something very close to my heart… However, one big problem….I didn’t even think to consider whether I am an ideal candidate for nursing. I got so wrapped up in dreaming about stability and my future that I failed to take into account MY dreams. All whilst this was happening I was beginning to fall in love with literature again. I began to read more again, I took up writing, I worked on my blog more and even started writing poetry. I was falling in love again. I started working with children again, something I haven’t done for two years and realised how much I loved it. This all came to a head recently, I realised that I had completely dismissed my passions for a life of stability. I was just sat at home watching a film, Dead Poets Society, and one quote from the film really struck me:- 
“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for. To quote from Whitman, ‘O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?’ Answer. That you are here – that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. That the powerful play *goes on* and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?”
We all contribute a verse to the play that is life. I won’t let my verse be something I am half hearted about. I want my verse to inspire others. I want my verse to change the world. I will not fall under the trap of mediocrity, I will follow my dreams. I will write like my life depends on it. I will draw and paint and learn and create. 

I’m finishing this post with another quote from the film Dead Poets Society. 

“Seize the day. Because, believe it or not, each and every one of us in this room is one day going to stop breathing, turn cold and die.” – John Keating (played by the outstanding late Robin Williams). 
Dream big, 
Love Rach xoxo

6 thoughts on “Dream Big

  1. You are so talented with words, emotions and feelings. You have a real feeling for playing with writing and words, I think literature is the right way for you to go. It’s so deep yet very approachable. I love this post and please keep on writing the way you do, you are brilliant.

    Marc | Bugger All Blog

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful post Rachel! I definetely encourage you to follow your dreams even if they are not conventional or “stable”. This happened to me too while in University. I decided to graduate from Advertising and Public Relations even though I like it, but I don’t love it. All I wanted to do was write for a living.

    So here I am now, working on my blog everyday so I can fullfill a dream I can’t get away from. So my advice to you is this: keep going! Don’t give up on your dreams. You will never fill complete until you are working towards them.

    Sorry for the ramble! Hope you like these words.

    Best,
    María Elena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so so very much for this comment Maria Elena!!! ❤️ I’m so pleased that you’ve written this for me, it has given me even more hope! I’m so glad you’ve followed your dreams and are now in a career you love! I hope to follow in your footsteps!
      Don’t apologise, I loved your words! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

