bblogger · beauty · beauty blogger · Body Image · Body Positivity · Feminism · Friendship · Girl power · health · Health blogger · lblogger · lifestyle · Mental health · Positive thinking · Uncategorized

Body Positivity Time with Megan

Today on the blog is the lovely Megan of @lzythoughts and http://www.lazythoughts.co.uk/ who is a fellow blogger and extremely positive influence on social media. Megan was so keen to get involved with this campaign and I was so excited to feature her….

“Whenever anyone mentions body positivity to me I’m always drawn back to one particular memory of my time at secondary school, when I was about twelve or thirteen.

 

Body issues had never really been a massive insecurity of mine. I was naturally thin, relatively tall and my only real concern was that despite hitting puberty early, I was still flat-chested. Whilst everyone else was idolising celebrities and getting into makeup and straightening their hair, I was just doing my own thing.

 

I don’t know when the whole ‘thigh gap’ trend started, but suddenly everyone seemed obsessed with having one. Being pretty thin and having relatively no fat on my thighs whatsoever, I had a pretty sizeable thigh gap. Only a couple of my friends didn’t have one, and yet I felt uncomfortable having mine pointed out. It was never something I was proud of; perhaps because I never thought I should look like a celebrity, and it soon became something I was pretty self-conscious of.

 

One lesson, they decided to show us a video on eating disorders. One of the things they talked about in the video was anorexia sufferers often having large gaps between their thighs.

‘Oh my God, you’re anorexic!’

Everything seemed to have finally fallen into place for one of my primary school friends, proudly coming up to me at the end of the video to share her newfound knowledge. As much as I denied the claim, she wouldn’t budge from her opinion and my perceptions of myself plummeted.

The words she said to me stopped me feeling positive about my body for years. Did people really think I was too thin? So thin I could be sick? ‘Anorexic’ never struck her as an insult; she thought I was being too sensitive and that I should take it as a compliment, but I never quite managed it. I didn’t have an eating disorder, but I really struggled to put on weight, and being called anorexic just bought my insecurities about this to the surface. I even considered the fact that I could be anorexic accidentally – maybe I wasn’t eating enough? If you’d seen the portion sizes I used to eat, you’d know how ridiculous this theory was, but it was something I became unsure about for a good few months because I assumed that normal people would just put weight on.

 

Nowadays, I’m much more confident in my body, and I don’t listen to what anyone else says I should look like. I’m still quite withdrawn from celebrity culture and for the most-part can get away with eating whatever I want and it not affecting my weight, though my metabolism is definitely not as good as it used to be! If I have one regret, it’s that I didn’t brush her comments off as quickly as I should have all those years ago, and that I let it affect me for so long…..”


It’s so nice to hear that now, Megan is more confident with her self after years of feeling negative about the way she looked. ❤️ Follow Megan in her Twitter: @lzythoughts and check out her amazing blog here

Love Rach xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

