Body Image · Body Positivity · Feminism · Girl power · lblogger · lifestyle · Positive thinking · Uncategorized

My favourite empowering ladies

Today’s blog post is going to be another in my #GirlPower series! I haven’t done one for a while, but seeing a post by my lovely friend Olivia has inspired this one. I want to dedicate this post to women in the media, past and present, that I find empowering. So without further ado, here it goes…. 

  • First up is Gigi Hadid. Gigi is a supermodel, for those of you who don’t know. She arrived on the scene about two years ago and has gone from strength to strength to gain recognition in the industry. Gigi is a Victoria’s Secret Angel, but has been criticised numerous times for her figure. Although she’s very toned, she doesn’t fit the usual VS body type, and has been called ‘too big’. I feel that she is helping to change the fashion industry’s ideals, and she has even written a piece on it herself here. I feel that she is a very positive influence to have in the industry and I’m excited to see if her influence helps to diversify it even further. She’s also a part of Taylor Swift’s ‘squad’, which is full of amazing, empowering females! 
  • Next up is Beyoncé.Beyoncé oozes empowerment. I’ve only got to listen to a song by her and I’m feeling sassy for the rest of the day. Unless you’ve been living under a rock, I’m just going a assume you all know who Beyoncé is, and instead explain why I find her so empowering. Beyoncé speaks out about feminism whatever chance she gets, as well as this she takes an active role in the BlackLivesMatter campaign. Earlier this year she appeared on the Super Bowl and debuted her song Formation, but came under criticism as people were unhappy with her all black back up dancers. They were styled like the Black Panthers while Beyoncé sang a song that referenced the recent shooting of innocent black people by American police. It was a radical political movement, and I am so happy to be able to look up to Beyoncé. She has also written a report on gender equality, here so take a look.
  • Rebecca West. West (the link is to  very interesting article on her) was an author and a journalist is the Modernist era of literature, and was VERY open about her feminist view points. She was a feminist from a young age, and wrote many works and articles that contain feminist issues. One of my favourite West quotes is this: “I myself have never been able to find out precisely what feminism is: I only know that people call me a feminist whenever I express sentiments that differentiate me from a doormat, or a prostitute”. If you do ever get chance to read something of West’s, I highly recommend her short story, Indissoluble Matrimony. In that story she not only addresses feminist issues, but also racial issues.  
  • Miley Cyrus. She is such a marmite character, people hate her or adore her. I am of the latter. I think she is an extremely empowering and influential figure in society. Just look at this interview for Elle magazine….

” Tavi Gevinson for Elle: I read that you consider yourself a feminist. What does that mean to you?
MC: I’m just about equality, period. It’s not like, I’m a woman, women should be in charge! I just want there to be equality for everybody.

TG: Right! And that’s what feminism is.

MC: I still don’t think we’re there 100 percent. I mean, guy rappers grab their crotch all f–king day and have hos around them, but no one talks about it. But if I grab my crotch and I have hot model bitches around me, I’m degrading women? I’m a woman—I should be able to have girls around me! But I’m part of the evolution of that. I hope.” 

And she has a point. People may hate that she walks around naked with fake penises in her hand, but there is SUCH a double standard. Although I wouldn’t do what Miley does, I do feel so empowered by her, she is a strong woman who knows exactly what she’s doing and how to gain success. She doesn’t care about what others think. We should be more like that.

So that’s it for my empowering female icons. I could easily write about so many more, and actually, just last week I wrote about how Kim Kardashian can be seen as being good for feminism, see here. Do you agree with my choices? Who are some women who empower you? I challenge you to follow suit and come up with your own list. 🙂 

Rach xoxo 

4 thoughts on “My favourite empowering ladies

  1. I have been a fan of Miley Cyrus for as long as I can remember. Everything she has been through, it only made me love her even more. A journey that started from Hannah Montana and became, even more, stronger after every album release, she IS and will ALWAYS be my absolute favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fab post as usual lovely! And thanks for the little reference! I’m going to have a read of Indissoluble Matrimony as I love finding awesome new little reads! I too am a Miley lover and love everything she stands for! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries at all! You’re posts are fantastic and always inspire me. I’m still so amazed at how similar we are haha! You’ll love it, Olivia! West is a fantastic writer, both her fiction and journalism! Yay! Miley is fabulous! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

