books · bookworm · Mental Health · Positive thinking · reading · student · Uncategorized · university

A coffee date with…myself

It’s nice to spend time alone, sometimes. It’s nice to just chill and relax, forgetting all your worries and cares. As I’m writing this, I am sat alone in Costa where I have just eaten a late lunch, had a tea and cake and read in preparation for my lecture tomorrow (Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night if anyone is interested!). All alone. This is a huge deal for me. Going back a few months ago, the very idea of it would have scared me half to death. I used to think people would look at me with a weird look, thinking I was some sort of sad nobody with no friends. with Now I welcome this time. It’s the second time I have come to Costa to read alone this week! I am not the only one, either. As I look around there are lots of people say alone. Some reading, some on laptops, some just sitting, thinking. I get so much done and really enjoy the thinking time I have when sat on my own. I spend a lot of time sitting and people watching…is it weird that I love people watching haha?! I love thinking up stories about the people that pass by. Where they’ve been, where they’re going. I find it so relaxing. I am so glad I’ve found the confidence to be able to do this. I think people underestimate the simple things in life. For me, this is one of them. It may sound selfish, but I really enjoy spending this time alone…it’s like a little date with myself. I certainly can’t wait for my next ‘date’. Does anyone else do this?! 🙂 
Love Rachel xoxo

14 thoughts on “A coffee date with…myself

  1. Oh I crave to get times like this again. I used to be able to sit in a coffee shop all day. I used to always take my studying with me. However, with 2 children I never seem to get time to sit back, have a coffee and people watch anymore x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

