bblogger · beauty · beauty blogger · cruelty free · Haul · lifestyle · lush cosmetics · make up · skincare · Uncategorized

A cruelty free and affordable Valentine’s Day makeover

I’ve recently been attempting to replace all my makeup with cruelty free duplicates, however, on a student budget, it is also important for me to find affordable makeup. I’ve found sooo many amazing discoveries and wanted to share them all with you, so I thought “What better way to do this than to display it in a Valentine’s make up look?”. 
First I started with Barry M’s Flawless Original Primer. This was an amaaazing find. Before this I used Maybellines Baby Skin primer, which I loved, but I love this one ever more. It’s so lightweight and gives my skin such a soft, flawless finish. Next came another Barry M product – the Flawless Matte Finish Oil Free Foundation in Nude which I applied with Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. This foundation is great and feels really natural on. It doesn’t feel like I’m wearing foundation, and smells amazing! I set this with MUA’s Matte Perfect Loose Powder for Shine Control as I tend to get super shiny on my nose and t zone. I’m not the biggest fan of contouring, it just doesn’t sound me, so I finished off my face with a dusting of MUA’s blush in Bubblegum. It’s soooo gorgeous, a lovely pink colour and reminds me of a powder version of Benefits Lollitint. You only need a little bit and gives a sort of ‘blushing’ effect, which is really pretty and romantic for a Valentine’s date. 

   
Sticking with the pink theme I moved onto my eyes with my Revolution Palette, using the palest colour for the whole eyelid and topping with a pinky shade (both pictured along with my lipstick believe). I then used my new favourite liquid eyeliner by Kiko. The brush is soooo thin so you can do a thin flick, or build it up to a feline look which is what I’ve attempted to do. This is a more sexy, vampy nighttime look which counteracts the more romantic, pinky tones I’ve used. It’s not too much, a nice subtle sexiness. I topped it with some of Kiko’s Luxurious Lashes extra volume brush mascara, which I actually prefer to my old favourite by Benefit. My eyebrows are filled in with Barry M’s Brow Wow eyebrow pencil in Medium-Dark.  

   
I finished off the look with a lipstick by Kiko which I think is called Midnight Mauve, and then a nail lacquer of the same colour. 

   
 I hope you’ve enjoyed today’s makeup look. I’m sooo sorry about the bad quality photos, I’m trying to improve my photography skills. 
Rachel xoxo

6 thoughts on “A cruelty free and affordable Valentine’s Day makeover

Leave a Reply

