books · bookworm · literature · student · university

Fresh starts and new beginnings…back to university musings.

Well, it seems that finally summer is coming to an end, with school beginning two weeks ago, and university looming around the corner, autumn is certainly on its way. September has always been one of my favourite months and I am one of those people who quietly hates the summer and wishes for colder months…but the main reason I love September because, for me, it signifies a fresh start – the start of university, school or back to work after a holiday. I am completely aware that I am a rare breed, and most people probably dread September and all that it brings, so I have made it my mission to alert you all to the positives of beginning uni, school or work again with a list of my favourite things and things I look forward to about this time of year.

  1. NEW STATIONARY!!!! – this has got to be one of life’s simplest pleasures. The feeling of a new notepad, new pens and shopping for a new bag….wow, it never gets old. I can’t even begin to explain the joy I feel when I walk into Paperchase or W H Smith and see all their ‘back to school’ stationary (I am aware that I sound like a complete geek haha), but for me new stationary feels like such a fresh start, a new term at school or uni, or being back to work after a long break. It’s amazing and I for one cannot wait to finish up my stationary shopping this weekend. 🙂
  2. The Autumn and Winter Starbucks drinks (or any other coffee shop for that matter) – Well, I don’t know about anyone else, but starting back to uni means I have a Starbucks about 2 minutes away every single weekday (something very dangerous for a self confessed caffeine addict like myself)! The pure joy I feel when I see the Autumn Starbucks cups is really quite embarrassing, and don’t even get me started on their Christmas cups, haha! The really is nothing quite like getting a hot drink whilst walking to a lecture or to work, and to me it wouldn’t be September without a Pumpkin Spice Latte!
  3. Crisp new books – Ok, maybe this is just because I’m a Literature student, but everything about a new book brings me endless happiness…the smell, the feel, how it looks…all new with no bends or pages folded or annotations inside. And a new term of uni always bring about a set of new books and textbooks. I spend the first few weeks of uni making sure all my books are kept crisp, ensuring I always use a bookmark rather than folding pages over (a very bad habit of mine). Of course, this is a novelty as by Christmas, all my books look about 20 years old as they are (lovingly) annotated with notes haha!! 🙂
  4. Starting afresh – Lastly, as I have already said, the main reason I love September and beginning a new school year, term or being back to work, is because it is a chance for a fresh start. Of course, change can come at anytime, but it just seems fitting to change with the seasons haha. I love the idea of starting again after a long summer, having reflected on the previous year, ready to change and improve yourself for the better! 🙂 It is a time to think positively about yourself and push yourself to achieve all that you want in life. September signifies being one step closer to your ultimate goal, and really who doesn’t look forward to that?! :)I hope you have enjoyed reading this post and are now loving September as much as I do! 🙂 x
Leave a Reply

